In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Headin’ North

1 Comment

Sometimes, you just have to get out town.  School was out last Friday, October 2nd so I grabbed my kid and headed to Centerview, Missouri (KC) to visit my dad and Rhonda.  I think she’s not that much older than I am.  But guess what?  My mom is married to someone who’s only 11 years older than me.  Age.  Makes no difference.  Everyone’s happy and that’s all that matters.  They live in the sticks on 8 acres and it’s pretty relaxing to just go up and hang.  Of course, if you have to go someplace, it’s a trek. 

I’ve wanted a Volvo S70 since 1998 when they came out.  Of course in 1998 they were a fairly expensive car.  And guess what?  I could’ve afforded one back then easily.  But I didn’t break down and buy one, though I should have!  I found a great one in Nixa.  But as soon as you find one, someone else nabs it.  Same story in KC.  I called about one and it was being sold as I asked questions about it.  We looked at one in Lee’s Summit.  Huge dent in the door, and another in Independence, only to find super high miles, mismatched wheels and bad interior.  I’m over trading my van.  I’ll keep it.  That is, until the right Volvo S70 presents itself to me.  And in time, the universe will reveal it.   End of car story.

We drove in to Raytown on Friday night.  Hit a place called Funhouse Pizza.  I will say the pizza there was incredible.  If you can stand a bar atmosphere, go.  If you can’t take those things, then definitely get take out!  I’m talking people smoking while they eat pizza, pitchers of beer being balanced and live karaoke all the way.  Some good and some really bad.   Before we left, this one girl (black chick) got up and belted her heart out.  I almost cried. It was awesome!  Here’s a photo of my dad, Lauren and their dog Jack on their back porch swing.  Don’t tell me I look like him, I already know that!

IMG_1252

Thanks for a super great and very relaxing weekend guys!  Love you both!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Headin’ North

  1. Thanks Kirsten, we had a great time too and hope you both will be back soon. It’s quiet here today, Savanna stayed with us last night, Jan went to the Creed concert. I dropped her off this morning at 7:00, they are going to the Chiefs/Cowboys game. Kind of a cold morning to tailgate, but hey, that’s part of the fun. Give our Miss Lauren a BIG hug and you guys stay in and stay warm! LOL, your Dad wanted me to tell you we have over 8 acres. I just love the fact that we can’t see any other houses!

Leave a Reply

