In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Week In A Nutshell

Leave a comment

IMG_1354

*I love the birdfeeder that my biological father made.  It’s in the front yard, and I have a perfect view of it through the picture window from one of my flea market chairs.  I cannot wait until the wintertime to see what other sorts of birds stop by.

*I taught a yoga class yesterday for someone that has the swine flu.  It’s at a studio down the street from my home.  Convenient indeed.  Felt good to help out and start a week earlier than I planned.  I’ll be teaching a Saturday rotation there.

*I love my new car.   It feels really good to have waited for something for like 10 years and to now finally have it.  During those 10 years, I drove two different mini vans.  One was gold, the other one blue.  My new car is silver and I was over being picky about the color.

*I’ve already paid $500 towards the Volvo loan and my first payment is not until December 2.  We pretty much live debt free with the exception of our house payment.  I don’t feel guilty about borrowing this small amount for the car at all.  We only use credit cards for plane tickets or wholesale yoga supplies for the boutique.  I think we’re unAmerican.

*I went to yoga this morning, not to teach, but for myself.  I meditate here at home almost every single morning.  I like the early darkness and the quiet of the house before anyone else gets up.

*Lauren and I made a run to Target today for a birthday gift.  It was 11:30 a.m. and the place was jam packed.  What’s up with that?  I thought the world was broke.  We checked out these awesome chairs my sister is buying.  They’re green and blue and made out of one piece of wood.  Very sleek, modern and comfortable.

*Our son has been invited to a track meet that will take place in Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii.  I want him to go.  Of course I want to go with him!  Hopefully, we can figure out how to send him.  We will get all the details this coming Sunday, Nov. 22.  The G.I. Joe’s are going on e-bay soon.

*We attended a choir concert last night.  Our daughter sang in that same Children’s Choir for 4 years and lost interest.  Our niece is still in it.  She sang a solo from Phantom of the Opera.  She looked beautiful and was simply amazing.  She also played her  flute a couple of times while the other choirs sang.  She’s 15, very smart and very talented.

*My sister totally hates her new job and says it just might be the most jacked up company in the world.  On the other hand, her husband is working on a massive resort in the Bahamas that’s being built by Tiger Woods and his bud.  Water features galore.  He’ll be busy for awhile.

*Frank has not had a day off since September 22, that is, until yesterday and today!  Finally, someone wants to work.  What did he do on his day off?  He went deer hunting.

*I’ve been working on serious organization around here.  Our office is full of crap, mine and Frank’s.  I finally purchased a nice book shelf for the hallway and now all of my yoga stuff is in one location.  I am so totally happy.  Yes, simple pleasures rock out.

*In my organization spree, I found several books that I need to read.  Winter weather and tea, oh yes.

*Today was the first day to drive the new car in the rain.  The head lamps have windshield wipers.  Cool.  I wonder if they really make a difference?

*Ghiradelli brownies are totally dangerous, and one should never, ever make them.

*My husband is addicted to watching Star Trek on the computer and I wish he’d put the head phones on.  I love sharing this small office space and bumping chairs often.

*My daughter informed me that the new Volvo commercial features the Twilight cast.  Funny.  She’s totally into the new car now, at first she was sad to see the van go.

*We’re not doing anything for Thanksgiving.  The last few years, we’ve held the dinner at our place.  We’re not having any company.  We’re just going to walk next door.

*I’ve fallen out of love with my hair dresser.  I’m not liking the hair style enough to maintain it, so I’m going to bolt.  Now, what kind of cut do I get?  My hair gets really heavy on the top and it’s driving my crazy.  Of course, my family says, “Let it grow long!”  Riiiight.  I teach yoga.  I need easy, short and low maintenance.  That includes NO flat ironing.  I need blow dry or toss wet and go. 

*My sister got a great haircut one time when she visited here.  I think I’ll go there.   She said it was the best haircut she’s ever had.

*I’ve had my hair professionally colored once and that was before we got married in August of 2004.  Some of my gray hair is not silky and straight.  It’s kinky.  I figure I’ll be the 50 year old yoga teacher with a white fro.  Check me out in seven years.

*Tomorrow is my last class at Jordan Valley Community Health Center.  They’re wanting a winter intersession and I hope the Y will pay me to do it.  I so love that new group, it’s close to home and the space is nice!

*This week is also my last week at MSU.  I’ve done an intersession for them for years.  Otherwise, they’d be without yoga until the end of January.  That would really suck.

 *I have not taken a bike ride or a walk in a few weeks.  Now that it’s raining, I want to!

*I’ve been blogging for a year and half now.  The post I did about the Christmas trees around the world and Hot Yoga have been the most popular.  Who knew?

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

