In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Total Relaxation

Leave a comment

This has been one crazy week for me for reasons I won’t bore you with.  But last night totally made up for all of the extra stuff I had to take on.

My good friend and fellow yogini, Abbe, was holding a Restorative Yoga class last night.  I decided I was going even though Thursday nights are deemed family night around here.  That’s about the only evening that someone doesn’t have something going on someplace. 

Awhile back I blogged about a yoga student that wrecked her bike while riding the Katy Trail.  She’s a very active senior of 80 and she’s done a lot of cool things.  Things like joining the Peace Corps later in life, building a house with her daughter all alone, and penning a book about that whole process that she just published.  

She lives close to me and since she was in a back brace for about 6 weeks I delivered some quirky movies to her cute little house.  One of the movies I loaned her was called Gigantic.  She loved it and so did I.  Her back brace has since been removed but she still has a couple more weeks until she can return to a regular yoga class. 

So. 

I stopped by her place yesterday to see if she’d like to attend Abbe’s Restorative Yoga class with me.  She wanted to go and I was glad.  I picked her up in my new to me Volvo.  She has an ’87 wagon.  Too funny.  We headed to the north side of town to the beautiful old Firehouse where the class was being held.  We settled in quickly with all of our props.  I provided a bunch of yoga blankets and threw a couple of bolsters in my trunk as well.  Nothing like running out of props in a class of this nature.  I wasn’t going to take any chances.  We spent the next hour and a half in several supported poses of rest and relaxation.  All the while Abbe stopped by with some magnificent oils on her hands for aromatherapy.  Good stuff like lavender and balsa, it was total and pure bliss.  No other words needed.

After the class another yogini friend of mine who lives in the district opened up her cool loft for a potluck dinner.   She lives in the upstairs and the downstairs houses her art studio.  She makes beautiful mosaics and metal sculptures.  She’d prepared some wonderful Thai food (my guest was excited having lived in Thailand once upon a time) and so was I.  Who doesn’t like coconut curry?  Probably someone, but definitely not anyone that was there last night.  The wine flowed, the cheese and crackers were nibbled upon and then it was time for dessert.  I whipped up a calamundin pie in a square pan for easy bite size morsels.  I still have lots of frozen juice from when my mom was here last.  That went over very well and it’s neat to bring something that’s tasty and very different.

Calamundins on the vine

We left the party close to 10:00 p.m. as I didn’t want to have my friend out too late.  It’s easy to forget someone’s physical age when they are so full of life.  I know in another post I mentioned I’d like to be a lot like her when I’m 80.  Right down to the practicing yoga, owning a Volvo and a cute little house.  Scratch off the Volvo.  I’m loving my new (old) car.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

