In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

In The Tradition Of Gratitude

2 Comments

Every Tuesday morning at 9:30 a.m. I lead a free yoga class at the studio.  I started the free class because the YMCA folks wanted another morning class, but the YMCA didn’t have funds to open one up at the time. I’m glad they didn’t.  So many new people have walked through the studio doors to practice yoga in a beautiful atmosphere with lots of props, low lighting and more.  I started the class in the beginning of the springtime and come summer I was so thankful to find so many students attend.  Not just college students, but several high school aged kids as well.  Very rewarding.  For many this free class has been their first yoga experience.  Sometimes that free class is my largest class of the week!  It’s exciting as I never know who’s going to show up.

Several attendees began asking if they could leave a donation.  I said certainly, but that it wasn’t necessary.  I figured if anything the donations received could go for the studio cleaning supplies that I purchase as well as any upkeep.  I’ve done lots of work down there in they way of purchasing paint and using it.  There’s always small things to keep up with as well.  Things as small as incense, card stock, trash bags, tape and staples to name a few.

Yesterday I received an amazing surprise.  It turns out that one of our yogis and MSU professor is also an awesome bread maker.  Before class, he handed me this beautiful ring of braided bread with some cheese in it.  Check this out.

Whoa, it’s really, really good too!  We popped it in the oven last night to warm it.  The crust was  just perfect, not too hard.  Panera Bread eat your heart out.  Our 11 year old daughter even said, “Mom, this bread would go really good with wine.”  What?  I’m totally not raising my kid on bread and wine in case you were wondering, but she did have a good point.  Besides receiving some cash for the free classes, I’ve been taken to the Mudhouse for a cup of chai tea, been given a large piece of artwork, I’ve been given a box of chocolate covered macademia nuts from Hawaii and some homemade organic, pumpkin muffins.  Those, were amazingly good by the way as well.  Unfortunately I ate those before I took their picture!  I never expected to receive anything from this class so I do suppose that in the tradition of giving is when we receive.

In gratitude to all – Happy Thanksgiving.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “In The Tradition Of Gratitude

  1. Beautiful, but not surprising that one of Springfield’s best yoga teachers would be rewarded.

  2. Hey thanks Lenette. Have a great holiday!

Leave a Reply

