In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

R.I.P. Jas Cat

1 Comment

Meet Jasmine.  Twice a year I have her shaved and have for quite some time.  She’s old and can no longer take care of her coat and hates to be brushed by me.  She has long, beautiful, soft fur and looks like that cat in the movie  Meet The Parents. 

We got her as a kitten of 6 weeks old in 1990.  She passed away quickly and comfortably wrapped in a warm towel on Thanksgiving night.  I think she waited until our big day was over and every one was home.  It was nice.  Our house is super quiet now.  She would wake up really early, or sometimes in the middle of the night meowing her throaty meow wanting food.  She ate little, but often and it was getting rather exhausting for sure.

In the past few years she dwindled away to a weight of just over one pound.  Her skin was loose, and her bones were sticking out all over the place.  But she was still spunky in the way that she could get up on the stove and steal a sausage out of the pan.  Our other two cats are totally not into people food so I am missing sharing my own morsels with Jasmine.

We have two other cats.  The orange one, Jake is proably 14 or 15.  The white one, Jackson is 3.  I think the dog really misses Jasmine.  She was very caring in the way of cleaning her ears very often.  I think animals can be depressed because the dog has been sleeping on a pillow in our room since she passed.  Today is the first day she’s been hanging out on the couch.  Nice to see her out and about  for sure.

I am so happy I didn’t have to take Jasmine to the vet like I had to with another old cat to be put to sleep.  One day Jasmine was good, and two days later she was gone.  That’s exactly how I wanted it to be, holiday or not.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “R.I.P. Jas Cat

  1. Sorry about your old friend.

Leave a Reply

