In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Open Windows

Leave a comment

This past Thursday was my first day without teaching a yoga class, or classes in 10 days!  The cold or whatever I’d had was finally on the way out, it took forever.  I really missed swimming, but I made it two days this past week and I didn’t feel like I’d fallen too far behind. 

The weather has been absolutely amazing and Thursday did not disappoint.  I headed out into the yard by 9:00 a.m. and loved every minute of it.  My flower garden on the north side was a disaster of debris.  I ended up using the lawn tractor and trailer most of the day and hauled off 12 loads down back.  I also chucked the 16 milk crates of walnuts that I didn’t get a chance to sell.  Bummer on that deal. 

Jackson, the white cat, is loving this weather as well.  He was outside with me all day and spent a great deal of his time lounging in the pear tree.  That pear tree needs to come down, most of it is dead, but here’s why we can’t cut it down just yet. 

Half of it still blooms and produces pears.  It also smells so good and it’s so pretty.  The pears are small and not really that edible.  The squirrels usually destroy them before they get a chance to do anything.

My hibiscus tree also popped one flower open yesterday!  I think it really enjoyed that steady rain that we received all day on Friday.  I liked the rain as well.  Nothing like a rainy, chill out kind of day after you’ve spent 10 hours in the yard.

The visit with my family went great.  My parents showed up with a ton of grapefruits as they always do.  Mom even attended 3 of my yoga classes and we gave a bunch of grapefruits and jars of calomundin marmalade (that she’d made) away. 

She also brought me 5 gallons of calomundins.  That took us a couple of hours to process.  There were four of us working.  First you have to cut them in half and remove the seeds.  Then after you’ve done that, you can squish them through a collander to juice them.  But we used my juice extractor instead.  We made a calomundin pie before they left to see how it turned out.  It tasted the same, but the filling was a deep orange instead of yellow and it didn’t have that glistening sheen.  But hey, we’re not making it for a a contest on food network so it’s all good.  Plus it saved a LOT of time!

I’ve had the windows open all day and the air has never smelled so good.  I plan to spend some quality time in my swing this week.  Life is good.  Enjoy.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

