In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Three Days

Leave a comment

At times I wish my family lived nearby but it’s also a blessing that they don’t. 

This provides the opportunity to take a little (or a big) trip in order to spend some time with them.  My dad lives in Centerview, MO out in the country on 8 acres.  I enjoy going there and doing basically nothing.  This last weekend the kids were out of school on Friday,  so I took my daughter Lauren and headed out.  She’s a great little traveler and I would guess it’s because she’s been doing it since she was born.  She packed her own stuff and was ready to head out while I was still enjoying my morning coffee.

My dad has a giant dog that she loves!  His name is Jack, he’s a Chow and German Shephard mix.

It rained the entire time we were there, so our planned trip to Powell Gardens was out.  What did we do?  We ate, that’s what we did.  I think I gained 10 pounds!  We made BLT’s for lunch on Friday, then headed to Warrensburg to the Copper Coyote for Mexican on Friday night.  Great food it was.  We also stopped at the grocery store on the way home from dinner and bought a small cheesecake and a bunch of candy.

On Saturday, it was still rainy so we slept in and made a huge breakfast that day.  They received a total of around four and a half inches of rain in about four days.  Later in the afternoon we made cashew chicken, Springfield style, for lunch and dinner.  It turned out really great!  Rhonda, my stepmom had a great recipe, she’s an awesome chef. 

On Sunday we ate cashew chicken and I made a Calomundin pie with the juice that I brought.  It turned out really great and it was something new and different for them to taste.  I left a bottle of juice for them so they could make another pie, or two or three.  We also planted a redbud tree that I had Frank dig up from our yard.  We have several wild ones around here, so if you want one, knock on the door.  Be sure to bring a shovel and a bucket to put it in. 

Even though the weather was not great, we had a nice visit and great food.  Thanks guys for a wonderful weekend.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

