In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Two Pieces of Ice

1 Comment

Summer is plugging right along.  Can it be June 15th already?  I guess so.  It’s also my dad’s birthday if anyone’s interested in sending well wishes his way.

In my yoga world, things are rocking right along.  I totally dig my summer schedule.  I took an awesome Kundalini class on Saturday.  If you live here you know how hot it’s been.  The air conditioning at the studio was out.  Let’s just say it was rather hot.  I dug the class but I also hated it.  Nothing but Kriyas but I hated it in a wonderful way.  Can’t wait to do it again.  But this Saturday, I’m opting for a meditation class. 

We’re holding the Yoga Mala on Saturday afternoon.  This will be our first time we do the 108 sun salutes outside and it’s going to be 93 degrees.  I am excited to take the event outside.   I think we’ll have a huge crowd.  I taught my free class this morning and the group never ceases to amaze me.  I thought it might slow down for the summer.  But nope.  It just keeps getting bigger and bigger.  I love the energy on Tuesday mornings.  I think it might be one of my favorite classes of the entire week to teach.  And guess what?  I receive the least financially for doing so.  Things are cool like that sometimes, that’s for sure. 

I teach on Tuesday nights as well.  Cool gang at the YMCA too.  After my class I dropped in at a friend’s house up the street.  She’s going to France tomorrow so we had a drink to celebrate.  A drink of Ricard, or Pastis to be exact.  She brings this back from France, and this time, she’s bringing some for me.  If you like anise or black licorice you have to try this.  Except I don’t know where you can get it around here.  So I guess you can stop by my place in a few weeks.  We sat on her deck with a glass of this and two pieces of ice.  Perfect ending to a great day that’s for sure.

I got my Volvo back.  My car I must say handles better than it did before my accident.  Guess I needed to wreck it.  I would highly recommend St. Louis Street Auto Body Shop to anyone in town.  Go there.  They’ll do it right.  I’m going to sent them a thank you card.  Believe it or not, I was way relieved to get rid of that 2010 Pontiac G6 the insurance company gave me to drive.  Every time I closed the trunk I felt like I was slamming a metal lunch box.  I love my car.  End of story.

Kids are staying busy and that’s a good thing.  Jordan signed up for an off season track team here in town.  He has meets on the weekends and lots of training during the week, plus he’s working too.  Lauren is volunteering at Wonders of Wildlife and spending lots of time with her friends.  I feel we’re busier now than when school is on.  I kind of miss the idea of the school schedule.  Things get kind of crazy with late night dinners, sleeping in and having to be here and there.

Wishing I had a couple more pieces of ice……….

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Two Pieces of Ice

  1. I always look forward to the end of the school year because I foolishly think that the pace will slow down. Now we’re more busy than ever!

Leave a Reply

