In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Delayed

Leave a comment

Delayed.  Not a good word to hear.  Especially when you’re at the airport.  This happened to us on Tuesday.  We were supposed to fly out of town at 5:05.  I checked everything before we left the house.  As we were checking our baggage, the status changed.  Delayed.  Bummer. 

I was traveling with my daughter and her best friend.  We were on our way to Florida to visit my parents.  I was extremely excited because I actually took four weeks off.  I was more than ready to get there and happy to arrive at a reasonable hour instead of in the middle of the night.

Not the case.  We were delayed two and a half hours which put us landing at St. Pete at around 10:30 p.m.  We retrieved our luggage quickly met my parents and headed to Englewood which is where they live.  We got to their place around 12:15 a.m. and of course, the kids were ready to swim. 

Around 2:00 a.m. we all finally made it to bed.  I was happy to find that my parents had purchased a new, very rad camper.  I have the entire thing all to myself and I couldn’t be more stoked.  It has beautiful white cabinetry, and faux dark hardwood flooring.  The a/c cranks and runs fairly quietly.  Needless to say, I slept until near 9:00 a.m. this morning.

Today was a mellow day of hanging out.  We swam in the pool for hours.  We got some groceries and made a full blown turkey dinner like we usually do.  I walked to the beach with the girls around 6:00 this evening.  The breeze was awesome, the sand felt good and of course I dig the smell of the ocean. 

My dad invited a dive buddy over for dinner as well.  Tomorrow, the three of us will head out on the boat into the Gulf.  Luckily, the oil has not made it here yet.  I hope we see some cool things out on the water and catch some amazing fish. 

Most of all, I am thankful and excited at the same time that I don’t have to cram anything in to like 4 or 7 days.  This is going to be a nice, long overdue, extended vacation.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

