In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Salt System

Leave a comment

This is the pool on Pine Island.  And that’s my cute little niece Ava, she’s 5 1/2 and can already read like crazy.  I think she needs to skip Kindergarten, we’ll see what happens with that.

This pool was really nice for a public pool.  Oddly enough, my sister’s husband builds pools, but they don’t have one at their home.  He’s actually in the Bahamas working on water features for a huge resort that Tiger Woods is building with his partners.  My sister Jeanine and Ava, travel to the Bahamas once a month for 10-days to visit him.  He’s been there for awhile and will be there probably until November.  Wouldn’t you hate to have to go to the Bahamas once a month?  It only costs $44 from Ft. Lauderdale.  I’d love to go, but I didn’t think of that far enough ahead of time.  Silly me, I don’t have a passport.

Back to the pool.  Classic Kirsten, talking in circles.  I’ve been swimming about three days a week at the YMCA at home in the burg.  The chlorine has turned the ends of my hair blonde and I always chuckle when someone tells me how good it looks.  Cheap highlights that’s for sure.  The chemicals are pretty harsh.  I wore out a bathing suit in a couple of months.  This pool on the island has no chemicals.  I also dug how the fence was covered with this blue stuff to deter gawkers.  Plus, it was a nice visual.

As we entered I noticed something really different.  No pool smell.  I blew it off and hopped in the lap lane.  I went under the water and bounced up to the taste of salt.  No way.  I swam over to my sister in excitement and asked her if this was a salt pool.  She said, “Yes, it is a salt system you dork, every one has that down here!”  Well, not everybody.  My parents don’t have a salt pool, but they should. 

It was totally like swimming in the soft water that we have at my house.  They use the same pellets and it’s amazing.  I guess it’s costly to change a pool over, but not so bad if you start with a salt filtration from the beginning.  I can’t wait to ask my brother-in-law all about it when he returns for the 4th this weekend. 

All I know is this.  It rocked out.  No harsh chlorine.  The water was super clear.  My eyes didn’t burn and my hair and skin didn’t feel like sandpaper afterwards. 

My only complaint is this.  The pool is closed on Sundays and Mondays.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

