In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Meet Ava

1 Comment

Meet Ava.  She’s my little 5 year old niece and she’s pretty cool.  She loves Webkinz, books, cats, Hello Kitty, painting, coloring, music and the Disney channel.  She’s also an incredible speller. 

I’m a lucky lady today, as I’m here on Pine Island babysitting her while my sister is at work.  She’s built a serious little area she’s named Catville.  She’s made signs.  Signs with words that I’m amazed that she can spell.  Stuff like no entrance, exit here, employees only, and do not disturb.  Crazy.  I tend to forget how old she is since her vocabulary is so large.  That is until she turns on the drama in order to get her way.  And she’s pretty good at that!

So far today, we’ve painted, we’ve used the crayons and colored pencils too.  We’ve played a matching game or two and looked at some books.  We’ve listened to the Dave Matthews Band (her request – sweet) and made some signs for catville.  We also ventured outside for about 15 minutes.  It’s hot as hell and I can take that.  What I couldn’t take were the massive quantities of mosquitoes buzzing around my head.  They’re rather bad down here that’s for sure.  Way worse than at my mom’s, it’s pretty swampy down here.

Speaking of my mom’s, the girls there today are doing some work.  My parents grow lots of off the wall plants to sell.  They also have a hydroponic garden.  My dad built these neat plant tables.  A few to be exact.   They’re made out of wood and they’ve already painted one of them.  They were putting Mady and Lauren to work today on painting one.  I wonder how far they got before they died of heat stroke and had to jump in the pool?

I remember one year I helped my dad tile their front porch.  We did it in bathing suits and we’d take breaks to jump in the pool now and then.  In a few hours, we’ll meet my parents at the Wal-Mart on Jones Loop and I’ll go back to Englewood.  My husband and my son will arrive tomorrow evening.  We’ll spend a few days in Englewood and then head back down here for the 4th of July.  I think the kids are going to decorate their bikes and cruise in the little island parade on Saturday morning.

Speaking of my son Jordan, he just finished his first Decathalon in Tulsa this weekend.  He finished second overall and will go to nationals the end of July in Virginia.  That’s pretty cool, we couldn’t believe it!  We are pretty excited for him, he has such a passion for track and field.  Signing off from the island, but it’s really nice to know I’ll be back real soon.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Meet Ava

Leave a Reply

