In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

We Made It Home

1 Comment

Delayed.  Again.  There’s that word you hate to hear at the airport.  On our way out of town, we suffered with this issue.  On the way back into town, we suffered yet again.  This time they put us on the plane, right on time.  Then we taxied and taxied and taxied on the runway in St. Petersburg, Florida.  Forever.  I told Mady, who was flying home with me, that something was wrong.  I was right.

We turned around and headed back to the terminal.  We were informed that the back door of the plane wasn’t secure.  Duh oh.  Nothing like sucking a few folks out the back eh?  Anyways, it turned out it was secure, but there was a sensor that said otherwise.  When this stuff happens it takes time.  The pilot came on the speaker and said that aerodynamics don’t make planes fly, but FAA paperwork does.  Then he said that this paperwork was going to take a little while.  One hour and fifteen minutes to be exact.  We sat on the hot airplane and listened to people complain and waste their energy fanning themselves with the emergency flyers.  Mady whipped out her notebook and pencils and started drawing.  I entertained myself by watching her talented hands glide.

We arrived in Springfield, late of course, and our descent was a bit scary.  Apparently there was some serious weather on the ground in town and we had to cruise through the clouds.  It was an extremely bumpy ride coming in, but we made it.  The sky looked real creepy at the airport and everything was very calm.  We got our luggage in the car just as it started to sprinkle.  Frank had called me and said a mini tornado had ripped through our hood and there had been flash flooding.  We still have lots of tree limbs to pick up, maybe we’ll do that today.

When we pulled into our driveway, I had a new front porch.  We also had no electricity from 6 at night until 11:30.  We sat on the new front porch awhile, then went in and lit some candles.

 

Frank started on this deck on Sunday evening.  He worked until one or two in the morning every night to have it finished this far by Friday when I returned.  He still has to build the little steps and curve the ends of the arbor boards.  I was so surprised.  I’ve wanted this for like 5 years.  I’d also wanted it to go across that concrete step, but he said he spent a long time with a jackhammer and that the step is solid concrete.  I’m thinking about having him build a small bench, or some square planters to help it blend in a little better.

It’s good to be home, but I am missing walking the beach already.  I am slowly getting back on schedule and I think that today, after I teach a class and swim this evening, I’ll be totally back on track.  I’m hoping anyways.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “We Made It Home

  1. Wow, what a nice surprise to come home to. I feel lucky after reading this post, we were only without power for 30 minutes that night. The sunrise that morning was stunning, and we even commented about the old “red sky in the morning, sailors take warning” saying. I guess it was true. Welcome home.

Leave a Reply

