In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

It Might Get Loud

3 Comments

I don’t watch much television.  In fact, if I lived alone I probably wouldn’t even own a TV.  But on Thursday it rained most of the day and I had the afternoon off.  I found myself scanning the FREE movies available on cable TV.  Uh oh.  Time waster I know.  I decided to watch It Might Get Loud and it was totally and completely worth my time.

I know what you’re thinking.  You’re thinking, “Kirsten, you dork, that film came out like last year.”  I know, I know.  I closed my video store in 2005 and ever since, I haven’t given much of a crap about what came out when and on what day.  And I must say, it’s been a total relief in a gigantic way. 

I do still enjoy movies I really do.  I love to go to the Moxie when I can and my friend loans me some Netflix on occasion.  I recently watched Serphine and loved it.  And they offered a preview for a movie called Cloud 9.  That movie looked good as well and I’ll be on the lookout for it.  I love foreign and independent films and well, the rest of my family doesn’t so I do need time alone to enjoy those.  Along with a big, fat glass of red wine.

So.  Back to my rainy Thursday.  I decided to watch It Might Get Loud.  This was about three guys and their guitars.  The film focused on how they all used feedback and other techniques differently but sort of the same.  It featured Jimmy Page from Led Zeppelin, The Edge of U2 and Jack White from the White Stripes.  I like all three of these guys and I like them a lot.  I was actually lucky enough to see Jimmy Page and Robert Plant (not together of course) in my lifetime and I would still love to see U2 someday. 

This was a documentary in case you’re wondering.  Three guys all different ages from three very different bands.  But as you watched the movie, you could actually feel the similarities.  I loved it when Jimmy Page walked through Headley Grange (they showed footage from now and then), I also really loved his expression when he played his vinyl of “Rumble”.  I liked listening to Jack White’s story of being the youngest of 10 kids and how he was heavily influenced by the blues.  I also dug the guitar that he had specially made just for him with the microphone.  I totally got chills when The Edge broke out the track tapes in his kitchen.  I loved the small glimpses of the rifts that they all offered throughout the film.  When Jimmy Page played Ramble On that was way cool.  I love that guy.

I also liked how they talked a little about what was happening in the world and in their lives that influenced the writing of the music at the time.  I think that speaks for the listeners as well.  I can remember what I was doing, who I was with and even where I may’ve been when a certain song touched me.  That’s it.  I’m breaking out my Led Zeppelin boxed set and I’m going to rock out.  Is it too early for wine?  Probably.  I have to run the carpool at 2:45 p.m. otherwise, I’d be in some serious trouble.

If you like any of these bands, these guys, or electric guitars in general, check this out.  I know I’m behind.  You’ve probably already seen it. 

Ramble On.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

3 thoughts on “It Might Get Loud

  1. Thanks for the tip! I picked this up for Bart’s birthday today 🙂

  2. I can totally relate to no TV – before I married Burl I lived for over 10 years without a TV set except for the last few years when I stored one for Ralph and Blair and they would drag it up from the basement when they visited so Blair could watch sports. Then I married Burl and his 7 TV sets – none of them too new and he really only watches one of them but still – 7?!?!? Now I watch the news occasaionally and “Desperate Housewives” is my guilty pleasure. Love reading your blog – you’re one of my favorites.

Leave a Reply

