In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

New Family Addition

2 Comments

I love cats and I have ever since I can remember.  I seem to be drawn to them the same way that they are to me. 

We had three cats here in this house until last Thanksgiving night when we lost our eldest to old age.  She was 19.  Our other geriatric feline is 16 I think.  So three years ago I was at a K-Mart on Mother’s Day none the less to purchase a sweeper.  When I walked into the store there were cages full of cats waiting to be adopted.  I left with a white kitten that day and a new vacuum. 

Enter Lauren’s dad.  He lives in Ash Grove in the country and someone had dumped two kittens on his road.  He likes cats, but his wife doesn’t.  I’d been thinking about getting another cat and I love to get them when they are little.  The other cats adjust much better and so does our dog.  Last Sunday afternoon, we made the trek out and picked one of them out.  I really wanted to take them both but there’s the expense of getting them fixed, at the same time since they are the same age.  Something told me I just couldn’t afford all of that right now.

She’s a very sweet little kitten and I’m thrilled we made a good choice.  Lauren named her Lily and it seems to fit with her sweet nature perfectly.  She’s wild at times like kittens are but after she plays a bit, she’ll just crash out right there on the spot.  She also likes to sleep on an incline, head up or head down. 

Not much else is new or exciting around here, except maybe this serious cold.  Have a great evening.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “New Family Addition

  1. She’s adorable! Our cat is named Lily too 🙂 I also love cats, but our Lily won’t be joined by another one because we found out last month that Madelyn is allergic to them.

Leave a Reply

