In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Freaky Caterpillar

Leave a comment

Yesterday afternoon as I was walking up the porch steps to the in-laws I saw this crawling about.

I wish I would’ve taken more time to get a better photo of this dude.  I thought I’d try again today.  But today he’s turned almost completely brown and is hugging a dead leaf pretty hard.  He’s going to turn into a Yellow Swallowtail butterfly!  I’d never seen one of these before.  I took him inside the in-laws and he kept crawling around and raising his head up.  He looked like a snake or a fish at certain times.  He also had a red or orange tongue like thing that he would show us every now and then.  Creepy!  Definitely a weird little caterpillar.

These caterpillars are found in town, in areas that are older with mature trees which describes where we live.  I also learned that they are seldom seen and usually move about and feed at night.  We had a windy afternoon yesterday (sort of like today) so I’m guessing he was on a leaf that was blown out of a tree.  I also learned that these caterpillars are usually not around after September.  I’m guessing since we’ve had such a warm fall so far, this is why he was out and about.  I’ll post some more photos as he moves through his changes.  How cool is this?

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

