In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Grateful

2 Comments

It’s Thanksgiving.  Again.  Time seems to move faster and faster all of the time.  I don’t know.  Which would be worse?  Movement or stagnation?  It’s a question I ask myself often. 

Today will be a quiet day.  We’re hosting the dinner here at our place.  My whole family is scattered about, so Frank’s sister, niece and his folks will join us later around 1:00.  We’re doing the turkey, potatoes and rolls.  It’s an easy day.  Every one else will bring pies and veggies so it’s all good. 

It’s been a bit since I’ve sat down here to actually blog.  Why you say?  Because.  My husband gave me a Blackberry and I can check my e-mail while I’m driving down the road.  Did I really just say that?  Yes I did.  And I’m just kidding.  Sort of.  Checking e-mail, maybe.  Responding, no way.  I like having it.  I spend less time here at my computer so I’m free to do the things I need to do without being in the office.  It’s a good thing.

I ended October with a yoga retreat.  This was the 4th year one of my favorite teachers came to town.  We had a great weekend of yoga, meditation and pranayama as well as an organic, catered, vegetarian lunch.  He’ll be back again next October.  And in fact he’s stopping by for a day practice in April.  He’s also seasoned in astrology and I find that stuff interesting.  So when he returns I’m going to have him do a reading for me.  I was born on October 31, 1966 at 3:30 a.m.  Sounds kind of creepy to me.  I can’t wait to see what the stars say about when I was born.  Who knows?  It might be something lame, like I was a homely milk maid.  Or perhaps I was an ax murderer?  It will all be in good fun though.

My brother was also here the end of October.  He brought his girlfriend.  She’s from Bulgaria.  We stayed up super late catching up.  I hadn’t seen him for two years!  They’d recently been to Turkey, Greece and Bulgaria.  We headed to Canton Inn for Chinese food and then finished the evening with wine and authentic Turkish delight candy.  Good stuff!  I’d like to see them again soon, but every one has their own lives and their own sort of busy-ness.

Evan and Kirsten.  Dig that Turkish Nike Shirt?  This was taken around one in the morning!

Irina and Evan.  Halloween.  Think “I’m not quittin’ you!”  Love it!

My free yoga class presented me with the most beautiful birthday card.  Inside was a gift certificate for a massage at Zen 3.  Wow.  I about fainted.  I hadn’t had a massage in a very long time.  I took advantage of this last Saturday after meditation class.  I still have money left on the card so I hope to return again in December.  Zen 3 is a beautiful place in a quaint area of town.  The massage was great.  Another student baked me a pretty, round loaf of peasant bread.  It was perfect.  It actually looked fake it was so perfect.  And how did it taste?  Not fake that’s for sure.  It was amazing.  We didn’t have to freeze any of it.  The four of us chowed that down pretty quick-like.

The kids are staying pretty busy.  Jordan is getting ready to start off-season track.  And the college search is on.  He has yet another visit this coming week.  I hope we can get this finalized soon.  It’s actually really exhausting just talking about it.  I know he would like for it to be over with too.  And he can’t quit thinking about it, he’s obssessed.  Lauren is busy with her girlfriends and the latest thing they’re into are Shrinky Dinks.  She loves the plain paper where she can create her own.  She really likes tiny, little things.  Whenever she works with clay, it’s the same way.  She’s been creating the tinest, littlest monsters I think I’ve ever seen.  Cute stuff!

Lauren’s new hair cut.  She’s looking so grown up, and she looks exactly like her father.

Jordan –  Go Parkview football!

Frank will be very busy at work starting tomorrow until Christmas.  In the meantime on his days off, he’s been deer hunting.  I won’t say anymore about that, because if get started it will be a long, negative rant.  And I’d rather not go there on Thanksgiving.  What I would like to do, is dump out this pot of coffee and start again.  This has got to be the shittiest coffee I’ve ever made.

Have a great holiday!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

2 thoughts on “Grateful

  1. It’s about time you blogged. Glad you finally saw the Brokeback Mountain pic. It’s hysterical! MUM

  2. Your coffee comment made me laugh. And? Go Vikings!

Leave a Reply

