In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Serious Snow Day

Leave a comment

School was called off yesterday.  The threat of snow was all around us, so by 9:00 p.m. on Tuesday, school was canceled.  Mind you, nothing was happening outside.  Not yet anyways.  By around 4 a.m. I heard the tick, tick, ticking of the sleet on the windows.  Oh boy.  Not another ice storm, please no!  We got some sleet and by about 8 a.m. on Wednesday we were experiencing a full-blown snow storm.  I’d picked up necessities at the grocery store on Sunday and I’m really glad that I did that.  I’m sure the stores were in a frenzy on Tuesday with the threat of the snow coming.

The weather media was having a grand old time with this.  At times, I think the job of the media is to drive every one into consumption through fear.  Ridiculous.  Like if you don’t drink milk for one whole day, you just might die.  Right?  So run to the neareat grocery store and buy all the milk and the bread just in case!  My husband was actually scheduled to be out of town this entire week, in KC none the less, so I’d stocked up on some stuff we could heat up on our gas stove just in case of a power outtage.  We have a kerosene heater and I knew that the kids and I would definitely not starve nor freeze to death while he was away.

He drove out of town for about 30 miles until they called him back.  I guess they needed him here, in case of the winter storm.  Needless to say I need more bread and milk now because he’s like home…..all week long.  He spent the day yesterday driving his John Deere tractor around the hood with the blade.  The city plow trucks were even kind enough to raise their blades when they passed our drive way as they noticed how clear our drive way was.  Sweet.  We will not be getting stuck at the end of our drive way, like my husband’s employees did this morning.  And let us know they were stuck at 3:30 a.m. today, they sure did.

We had a quiet day yesterday, and I got a lot done that I needed to accomplish.  Things like drink hot tea and read a book about Sedona, AZ which is where I’ll be heading with my daughter and a couple of yoga friends for Spring Break.  I also stripped naked (sorry for the visual) and headed into the shower and scrubbed the crap out of that ordeal.  Long overdue.  I can say it’s done now and shine it did in the brightness of the sunlit snow today!

Today was not so quiet and I knew it wouldn’t be.  There should actually be a snow day for the grown ups, without their kids.  By noon I had two extra girls over here, running in and out, wet snow, wet clothes the whole ordeal.  They ran the netfix on the Wii all day when they were in the house.  I stayed in my pajamas all day today, and baked some cookies, did some laundry and waited for the day to be over with.  After all, I’d been awake since like 3:30 a.m. as we didn’t receive just one phone call, we got like 5.  Sheesh.

There’s no school AGAIN tomorrow and I’m totally bummed.  MSU is out as well, so I bet I won’t have to teach any yoga over there.  I was really looking forward to that.  But, if not, I’ll be heading to the pool at the YMCA to burn off some serious cabin fever energy!  Seriously ready for the melting to get under way.  Did I mention that it was 67 degrees on Saturday?  Nuts.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

