In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Snow, Rum and Cookies

1 Comment

As I write this, it’s snowing a blizzard.  Again.  Enough already.  Really.  The kids have been out of school for four days now.  At this rate they won’t be going on Monday either and I’m not liking that at all.  I finally got out yesterday, no problem whatsoever.  My car handles well in this stuff and believe me, the side roads are terrible.  So are some intersections on some pretty heavily traveled roads.

My husband will love this.  He will get to drive around on his tractor with his blade and push snow for people.  Heck, on Tuesday he plowed the entire street across from us.  That’s him on his tractor.  That’s our daughter on the deck.  He usually clears the sidewalks as well, but not this time.  Snow plows kept that from happening.  But they were cool enough to lift their blades as they passed our drive and the mouth of the street he’d just plowed.   And plow he did.  He resorted to doing a few driveways instead since the sidewalks were out of commission.   He loves doing this and does it for nothing, until last night.

We heard a knock on our front door.  It was a guy that wanted to talk to my husband.  We had to find my husband first as he pretty much lives outside no matter what the weather’s doing.  Well, this guy at the door happened to be a neighbor.  A neighbor I hadn’t met before.  My husband had plowed his drive way and he brought us a gift for doing so.  Wow.  How cool is that?  Pretty cool if you ask me.  Good thing we enjoy a drink now and then because it was a bottle of Zaya Rum.  I’d never had this before but believe me, when we finish this off I have a feeling it will be a staple in our liquor cabinet.  We opened it up and it smelled awesome.  I tried it straight (unheard of, I’m a baby) and it was really smooth.  Hints of caramel and vanilla.  Creme Brule comes to mind so picture drinking that.  I was in the process of making cookies.  I’ve done that every single day since the snow’s been on.  We’d had Thai food for dinner so I guess our neighbor knew that this rum with a subtle hint of coconut would finish off our evening nicely.

 

Good thing I volunteered to take my mother-in-law to the doctor and to her hair appointment early this morning.  If not, I could’ve easily overindulged myself with the Zaya.  Later this afternoon I took a walking camera meditation and got some great photos of Fassnight Creek.  This was before the blizzard started.  The blizzard has now grown to ginormous flakes.  Dang.  I’m not liking this one bit.  Three days in my pajamas has been quite enough.  I want my life back as scheduled.  Anyways.  Today, the mailman dropped off a package at our place.  It was from my folks and when I opened it, I found this.

Grapefruits from their yard.  Honey from their bee hives.  Their first attempt to make these rockin’ pickles that I order from this chick in Oklahoma.  I know.  They are that good.  Can’t wait to see how close their duplication is.  There’s also two small bottles of Cello, the Italian Liquer kind.  One bottle is Lemon the other is Calamondin.  Yikes.  Looks like the blizzard’s brought us liquor and cookies!  Would love to dive into this cello but I shall refrain.  I’m helping with a yoga class tomorrow from 11-5.  But wait that’s not very early in the morning now is it?  Hmmmmmm.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Snow, Rum and Cookies

  1. Please send me the cookies recipe! They look yummy!
    Loved your blog as usual. Love, MUM

Leave a Reply

