In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Get Your Groupon!

Leave a comment

Whoa.

We just put out our second Groupon at the yoga studio where I teach. 

If you have a small business I think Groupon is a cool way to spread the word.  Groupon is something you sign up for and it comes in your e-mail box almost every day when there’s a deal in your area.  You have about 24 hours I think to purchase the deal, then it closes.  We received a decent response from the first Groupon so we thought we’d try again.   This one was a different offering.  An offering of 24 classes for $24 with a six month expiration date.  Our response has been crazy.  So much that I actually had someone teach for me last night. 

I know.  That’s pretty lame.  I taught 3 classes on Monday and in between each class all I did was this.  Answer my cell phone and return e-mails and texts from Groupon folks.  Tuesday was pretty much a rerun.  I only had one morning class on Tuesday.  After that I spent the rest of the day returning calls and e-mails.  I picked the kids up from school, I made dinner and did a little grocery shopping too.  Twice on the last one because I forgot something on the list like I always do.  Classic Kirsten style.  By the time my evening class came around I was exhausted.  I was supposed to teach at 6, but I let someone else do it for me.  I was spent and needed to wind down.

The phone has not quit ringing yet.  I decided to put up a  Groupon holder information page on our website to help with all of this talking.  It’s working.  People are e-mailing and sending a text message to reserve their spot in class.  Cool.  I like it when I have decent ideas and they actually work!

I am off from teaching all day tomorrow.  Good deal.  I will be able to use my cell here at the house instead of while I’m walking in to teach a class or driving down the road.  It’s amazing to see so many people interested in yoga.  I’ve been teaching a FREE class at the studio for two years now and though that class is large, it’s nothing like the fall out from the Groupon.  We sold a total of 448 and that’s quite a few.  I had no idea there were that many people in our area even interested in the practice. 

One of us even received a phone call about whether nude yoga classes were available.  Not the first time that’s happened.  I think if anyone out there is interested in starting a nude yoga class, there’s a niche for it.  It might just be the million dollar income you’ve been looking for.  Don’t look for me to be teaching that one, but you just never know.  I might show up in your class.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

