In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

You Go Jordan!

1 Comment

Today was a blustery, nasty 45 degrees with drizzle and all.  Not the ideal day for a track meet.  But.  We had to attend.  It was the first meet of the season and our son probably didn’t get any sleep last night thinking about it.  He’s been trying to beat Parkview’s discus record for three years now.  

Last night he asked me if we could do some yoga stretching and some relaxation.  I said of course.  I had him use the strap to stretch out his legs and use the bolster to stretch out his back.  I even treated him to a little Thai Yoga Massage at the end.  He was thankful.

Back to the track meet.  Our son was scheduled to throw at 4.  I met my husband at the field, but not before I drove through Starbuck’s (I had a gift card, otherwise it’s out of my budget) and I sat in the car until the meet started.  I noticed my in-laws had a front row spot in the car to see the kids throw.  I joined them.  I don’t like to be cold and I dislike being wet and cold even more. 

Jordan threw 161 feet the first throw and 163 feet the second time.  He threw 163 feet again the third time.  On his fourth and final throw, he tossed a 176.9.  That’s feet.  From the car I saw him put his hands on his head and fall to his knees.  I ran as fast as I could to see how far he had thrown.  He was so excited and so were we.  I told him it was because we did all of that yoga last night.

He is going to CMU, Central Methodist University next fall.  We are so proud of him.  On his own he researched and made phone call after phone call and filled out massive paper work.  He will be attending CMU with 80% in scholarships.  Now that he’s thrown this distance I’m sure his athletic cash will be upped a tad.  Track is hard for scholarships as they base it on what you did last year.  Of course he had academic stuff to stack on top of this athletic stuff as well.

I am so glad that he accomplished his goal.  The discus record was set in 1981 at 174 feet.  Way to go Jordan, you are amazing!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “You Go Jordan!

Leave a Reply

