In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Last Day In Sedona

Leave a comment

Our last day in Sedona had dawned upon us.  We would have to leave very soon.  We decided to take one last hike in the early evening to our favorite spot.  It was the place we went on our first hike with our tour guide.  This place is called Airport Road.  Why?  Because it’s on the way to the tiny airport on the top of a mountain in Sedona.

There were a few people about enjoying our favorite place, but most were on bike rides or power walks.  No one really wanted to stay and sit.  We ran into an Asian lady who was freaked out about how high up she was.  She said she hadn’t seen any people for a long time and was worried about getting down the trail.  We pointed her in the correct direction.  She was thankful and afraid at the same time.  One side of this trail is pretty much a drop off, but I never felt unsafe.  Neither did the kids.  It was a fairly wide piece of trail but at the same time, it’s a very smooth rock.  I see where slippage could be a concern.

My friend and I of course wanted to settle in for one last meditation in this beautiful spot.  Did the kids?  Heck no.  They wanted to explore and throw rocks instead.  I was able to sit anyways, I can let things like that go.  My kid was antsy so I grabbed her and made her sit between my legs.  She was pretty unhappy about that but got over it pretty quick.  I think we got a good 5 minutes in before I heard my friend gathering rocks.  She looked at me and said, “You know what we’re supposed to do?”  I said, “What?”  And she replied, “This!”

So we built a heart as a thank you note for our guide.  Our girls chipped in gladly as we worked this puzzle.  This area also has green rocks scattered about.  I was really intrigued by them and I’d asked our guide what they were called.  I’ve forgotten now, but it doesn’t matter.  I placed a good pile of them in the center.  We took a few more photos and enjoyed the view.  Everyone was pretty quiet now.  I guess sometimes it just takes building a serious rock formation to calm the kids down.  They had a great time and didn’t want to leave this place.  They loved it as much as we did.  I feel lucky to have been able to share a journey like this with my daughter and two very special friends that I met in 2005 in the yoga room, imagine that.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

