In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Captain Fantastic

4 Comments

I feel very lucky to have been raised in a house filled with music.  My mom played the accordian, my brother and my sister both played the piano and I played the violin.  From early on we listened to a lot of music at our house.  And from early on we listened to lots of different kinds of music.  Country was minimal, though we watched a little Hee-Haw and some Porter Wagoner.

We had one of those cool stereos that hung on the wall.  It was like a cabinet and when you flew the doors open they turned into speakers and the turn table dropped down.  We had a ton of records and we played them quite a bit.  I remember listening to Johnny Cash, the Eagles, Jim Croce, America, Simon & Garfunkel, Carly Simon, The Beatles, James Taylor, Crosby Stills Nash & Young, Gordon Lightfoot, the Rolling Stones and Elton John.

I think the first time I saw the Captain Fantastic album I was in my uncle’s bedroom in Minnesota.  He had the coolest room ever.  It was located in the basement at my grandma’s and it was a pretty decent sized room.  Someone in the family was in the carpet business so the shag carpet in his room was all different colored squares.  Remnants I guess, but it rocked.  It was also really dark down there and pretty private.  I don’t think he liked us in his space but we felt pretty cool when we were invited in.  He had beaded curtains, lava lamps, a chess set made of stone and lots of record albums.  He also took me to see my very first rated R movie (I know he didn’t want to take me) which was American Werewolf in London.  Man I thought I was pretty uptown cool on that night.

Anyways back at my house in Missouri, my mom was in love with my now step-dad and he was in love with Elton John.  Hence Elton was turned on the table quite a bit in our household.  It was announced that Elton John would be coming to town on April 16 and the tickets would go on sale on March 19.  Great, I was going to go to that concert!  I thought so anyways.  Sadly, my plane to Sedona would be in the air when those tickets were unleashed.  I had someone try to get them for me, but it didn’t work out.  They told me through Facebook while I was in Sedona that I could still purchase a ticket online.  I quickly logged on to find that they were all sold out.  It was all good, it just wasn’t meant to be.  I got home from my wonderful trip to Sedona and the South Rim and decided to look on Craig’s List for an Elton John ticket.  Whoa.  People were wanting to sell their tickets for ridiculous amounts.  I was not going to pay more than $200 for one and that was too much if you ask me.  Remember.  I’m a yoga teacher. 

I decided to place my own ad on Craig’s List which plainly stated that I wanted a ticket to Elton John within ethical reason.  I immediately had folks e-mailing me their phone numbers.  I made a few calls to find out these folks were taking names and dollar amounts.  The tickets would go to the highest offer.  Whatever.  I only wanted one ticket.  Just one.  I left my ad up and on the second day of April , I was out walking at Close Park.  I had my phone with me and I can receive e-mail on it.  I heard my phone buzzing and almost ignored it.  But I was glad I didn’t.  Some kind soul had just sent me an e-mail that the arena had just released several single seats and that I should not have to pay scalper’s prices.  I didn’t get too excited.  This was Craig’s List and I’d been down this road already.

I finished my walk and when I got home I decided to call the JQH arena.  Low and behold the nice person that had sent me that e-mail was correct!  They had tickets and they weren’t the crappy ones.  The tickets were selling for $30, $80 or $139.  I scored an $80 ticket, no price inflation.  The night of the concert I downed two glasses of wine and walked over there.  I stopped to take some photos of the beauty along the way.

This was my fist time inside the new arena and it’s pretty nice.  I don’t think there’s a bad place to sit in this new arena if you ask me.  I took three photos at the concert with my phone and enjoyed myself thoroughly. 

Elton sang everything that I wanted to hear as well as three new songs that I wasn’t familiar with.  He played for almost 3 hours straight.  There was no warm up band.  He still has his original drummer from like 1969 or something and a guitar player from like the early 70’s.  The arena also had two jumbo screens so the close ups of his hands on the piano and facial expressions were really neat to see.

Afterwards I joined the sea of people on the yellow brick road on the way out.  The air outdoors was nice, the moon was full and the sky was clear.  I pretty much walked home before half of the people made their mass exits from the parking lots.  I can now cross this entertainer off of my list.  Great Saturday night that included no fighting for sure.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

4 thoughts on “Captain Fantastic

  1. So glad you got to see the show! Capt. Fantastic is probably my fave EJ album of all time and the art work is mesmerizing. Saw him in Vegas a few years ago and it was one of the best shows I’ve ever seen.

  2. Intuitive, intelligent, interesting!

  3. ..By Donna Freydkin USA TODAY..NEW YORK Elton John accompanied by his longtime partner David Furnish had some choice words about Californias Proposition 8 the ban on same-sex marriage that passed on Nov. .. You get the same equal rights that we do when we have a civil partnership.

  4. A vote for YELLOW BRICK ROAD from me

Leave a Reply

