In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

December

1 Comment

This is the second December in a row that I’ve seen a hawk in the yard with its prey.  I wonder what the meaning of that is?  Maybe it means it’s cold and the hawk is hunting in our yard.  Maybe it means something out of the ordinary is going to happen.  Who knows.  What a beautiful bird.  This time the hawk had a squirrel and he hid it from us for quite some time with his wing span.  I do like seeing things like this especially because we live in the middle of town.

Frank is now the Director of Public Safety at the Branson Landing so he’s making the trek down there every single day.  He usually rides the motorcycle to save gas since his truck is quite the hog on that deal.  He seems to enjoy working down there quite a bit.  It’s a much different atmosphere than the Battlefield Mall that’s for sure.  I made it through another November (deer season) and that was total drag for me.  Fall is my favorite time of year and most of the time I’d just like to really opt out of it around here, that’s a fact.

Lauren is super busy just being 13.  Exhausting!  She’s not even in any extracurricular activities and I’m still driving all the time.  She has a few real close girlfriends and they are pretty tight.  They hang out here a lot, they go to the mall,  and they attend Art Walk every single First Friday.  They all love alternative music and I’m pretty happy about that.  They are all going to go and see NeverShoutNever tomorrow night and they are super pumped up about it.  She’s doing well in school but I have to stay on her.  She is lazy and would rather text, Facebook or geek on her iPod.  I have had to limit and take these things away on certain occasions.   She is excited about Parkview next year.  I just hope she can find something to really get “into”.  So far she’s taking French so that’s good.  She loves journalism but wasn’t chosen for the club at her middle school.  I told her in highschool it’s an actual class and you don’t have to be popular to be in it.  She loves photography and art and she also enjoys drama, so I have a feeling that theater could be in her future.  Guess we’ll just wait and see.

Jordan finished his first semester at CMU and is considering transferring to UCM next year.  Bigger school.  NCAA in sports and marine and land biology too.  I think his girlfriend is going to go there.  And it’s cheaper by about half of where he’s attending now.  This is a no brainer to me but it’s his money and his education.  He is doing really well in college and works at the art museum hall there.  Unfortunately with his track schedule he can’t really work very much and that’s a real bummer for us.  I took him shopping this evening for the holidays.  He needed tennis shoes, two pair, and one pair of sandals.  Big money.  Luckily Famous Footwear had buy a pair and receive the second pair 1/2 off.  If you need shoes grab a friend and go!  He will cut his break short and return to school as spring training starts before the break is actually over.

I’m still doing yoga and liking it very much.  I think it will always be a big part of my life whether I’m teaching one class per week or fourteen.  I feel that 2012 is going to bring a big shift for me but I’m not really sure in what way.  I think I’ll do a little animal research on the meaning of hawks landing in your yard with prey two Decembers in a row.  Doesn’t really sound all that Christmas-sy now does it?

I hope you and yours have a holiday to remember. 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “December

  1. Love it; tying together the beginning and ending made it perfect. Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

