In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Doppleganger

Leave a comment

In fiction and folklore, a doppelgänger (German “double walker”) (pronounced [ˈdɔpəlˌɡɛŋɐ] ( listen)) is a paranormaldouble of a living person, typically representing evil or misfortune. 

In modern vernacular it is simply any double or look-alike of a person.

It also describes the sensation of having glimpsed oneself in peripheral vision, in a position where there is no chance that it could have been a reflection. Doppelgängers often are perceived as a sinister form of bilocation and are regarded by some to be harbingers of bad luck. In some traditions, a doppelgänger seen by a person’s friends or relatives portends illness or danger, while seeing one’s own doppelgänger is an omen of death.

Do you see me in this photo?  Lots of people have.  This photo was circulating at the reunion that I attended in St. Cloud, MN with dad the first weekend in August.

The lady sitting with the baby on her lap resembles me quite a bit.  She’s my great grandmother on my dad’s side.  She was born in 1889.  This photo was taken in 1912 or 1913.  I am thankful to have it as I think it’s really cool and totally amazing.  By the way, she was German. 

I clean with a guy from Ecuador a couple of nights a week.  The other night he asked me if I was of European decent.  I told him that could cover a pretty broad range.  Then he said he lived in a Polish-German hood in Chicago for years.  He said I resembled the women in that community.  This just keeps getting weirder all the time.

Stranger yet, my dad just called me in the middle of this post to see if one of my cousins from the reunion had contacted me yet.  I told him that she had.  Strange indeed.

This is a photo taken of me last year, 2011.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

