In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Little Free Library #4581

1 Comment

IMG_7167Awhile back my meditation teacher had her husband build her a Little Free Library.  I immediately wanted one because the street we live on is somewhat busy not only with car traffic, but bicycle and walking traffic as well.

These are super cool and my husband could’ve made us one but.  I knew that he would probably never do it, so I bought one and got in trouble.  Her library was the second one in our city. Our library is the third and as of the other day, her husband sold another one, so now our town has FOUR Little Free Libraries.  Pretty cool.

If you’re not sure what I’m talking about let me explain.  You place this box on a post in your yard.  You register it with Little Free Library DOT org.  They then send you a steward sign with a post number and you can load your box up with books.  We’ve found lots of interesting books in ours.  Someone dropped off a whole years’ worth of women’s magazines the other day as well.  Our library can hold about 35 or so books.  We seem to get a lot of traffic at night so I mounted one of those little battery operated touch lamps inside of ours.

Stop by 1331 S. Jefferson and grab a book or donate one.  We’re having a lot of fun with this so far!

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “Little Free Library #4581

  1. Hi Kirsten – I’m just catching up on blog-reading and was excited to hear all that’s going on in your life. Would love to know more about your new job if you care to share – and I will definitely drop off some books at the Free Library when I’m back in Springfield this summer. I made my blog private but if you want to read it, shoot me an email and I’ll get you connected. Haven’t had a lot to say lately but after I gave it up for a month, I found I missed writing.

Leave a Reply

