In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

Happy 17th Lauren

Leave a comment

My daughter is now 17 years old.  How did that ever happen?  I know folks say time travels fast but I truly believe it travels much faster when you have a child.  Even if you just have one.  The birthday celebration lasted all week long.  We got cupcakes from The Cup on one night.  The actual birthday evening me and two of her friends went to Red Lobster.  It’s something we do every year.  Small tradition that we’ve been able to keep.  The rest of the week was spent shopping and hanging out with her friends.

I have to enjoy the photos of my kid that I have around the house because I hardly ever see her face.  She’s busy.  Not with school.  Not with a job.  But with friends.  I’m glad I was able to get her the car to drive to school since I chose to move out of the school district.  We had to transfer over to keep her at the same high school.  She’s smart, but she’s lazy.  She loves to procrastinate and demonstrates NO sense of urgency most of the time.  She has a sarcastic and incredibly witty sense of humor.  She’s absolutely gorgeous.  She’s had a couple of boyfriends but not with anyone that she can’t seem to live without.  She’s messy and I mean like totally unorganized.  In her room and in her car.

Basically, she’s the opposite of what I am.  And it’s OK.  Believe me I wasn’t always OK with that.  I wanted her to be organized, tidy, retentive about her school work, and to show a stronger sense of caring and appreciation towards others.  But.  She’s not me.  She’s her own beautiful kind of mess.  And to that I have to say I am a pretty proud parent.

Be your own true self Lauren.  Shine On.

SAMSUNG PHONE PHOTOS 670         SAMSUNG PHONE PHOTOS 065    SAMSUNG PHONE PHOTOS 669

 

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

Leave a Reply

