In The Middle

Life, Family, Yoga, Stuff

The Summer

1 Comment

Every summer, my daughter goes to Florida.  This past summer was no exception.  My parents drove in, stayed at an Air BnB on the other side of town and helped me have a much needed garage sale.  I’ve never had much wrong with my body in the way of pain, but around that garage sale time, I started having a burning in my back.  It was so bad that in fact, I had to opt out of the garage sale and spend some time in bed.  Not like me.  At all.

The sale went on, my dad gave me a muscle relaxer (which I’ve never taken) and I was able to function the rest of the day.  In the meantime, I made another appointment with my doctor.  This pain had started in my hip/thigh/groin and was bothersome at yoga.  Mostly when sitting cross legged and bending forward while on the floor in class.

My folks left and took my kid back with them like they always do. Greg and I would head to Florida a few weeks later.  We would meet Lauren at the airport, hand her her car keys and say hello and good-bye.  I returned to my doctor to have him tell me it was sciatica and I could try physical therapy.  I was like really? I know yoga, I can fix my own body, but Ok.

Off I went one time per week to physical therapy at $40 a pop.  Cheaper than a massage and it was awesome and real close to my house.  Apparently by the time I got there, the side that had been hurting had quit and the pain was super bad on the other side.  The garage sale day side.  Weird.  I guess some muscles in my back weren’t firing correctly and I had lost some core strength. Nice.  I do lift some stuff at my job, but my work with the boxes and running that insane hand truck were over when they shifted my job. Good thing I think!  I still pull some leather and it can be rather heavy.  I continued with my therapy and still have some issues on and off.  I guess I’m 49.  Oh well.  Life goes on.

I have turned into one of those people that walks into my class and says, “Help me.”  Never thought I’d see the day.  I don’t practice like I used to.  I do get exercise at work but I know that’s not enough.  I’m usually so tired that I don’t want to do anything physical after work.  Shifting that right now though.  It’s all good.

In the meantime I have muscle relaxers that I never take and Naproxen that I do take and wine that I do drink.  Things could be much worse, this I know for sure.

Author: Kirsten

Student of life, mother of one kid, 2 cats, and three dogs. I take and teach yoga, enjoy reading, movies, beaches, piddling in my yard and a good glass of wine with or without company.

One thought on “The Summer

  1. I love getting caught up with you. Hugs

Leave a Reply

